Lineage III Programmers Under Investigation

By Ron on Monday, April 30th, 2007 at 4:12 PM PST In Game Companies, Games Industry, NCsoft

NCSoft LogoSeven former programmers at NCSoft, Korea’s largest game developer, are being investigated in connection with the theft of code from Lineage III. Chosun Ilbo, a Korean newspaper, is reporting that the programmers are suspected of allowing a rival game company to review and copy software technology from Lineage III during a job interview. They are also suspected of leaking the the entire program design of Lineage III through email or on portable disk last September. Apparently, NCSoft has had some recurring internal problems since removing an unnamed senior game designer for poor leadership skill. Unfortunately for NCSoft, most of their 90-member development team left with the fired leader. The damage, according to NCSoft, is estimated at over W1 trillion (where $1 US = W927).

Moral? Giving software from your previous employer to prospective new employer = jail.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon

Related News from Gaming Today

4 Comments on “Lineage III Programmers Under Investigation”

  1. luke says:

    Yeahh i know of another case, the thieves are under investigation by the F.B.I.

    “I strongly advise that you do NOT go to ruletheseas.com; they are an illegal site and the ‘owners’ (can you call them that?) stole the code, images, etc. from a beta version of another site.
    PayPal has stopped honoring their accounts, they are switching servers all the time because the original owners of the code show the proof to their hosts and the host pull them.

    It’s only a matter of time before the ‘owners’ go to jail – and you’ll be out any money you give them. The real site it’s ripped from (and badly at that!) is [url=http://www.piratequest.net]Pirate Quest – Online Pirate RPG[/url] – this is a much better game and the reps there are honest.

  2. Paul says:

    How sure are you about this serious accusation?

    Do you have proove of this?

    regards

    Paul

  3. Morgan says:

    re: Rule The Seas (ruletheseas.com)

    Check out…

    http://www.dogsonacid.com/showthread.php?threadid=502912&cache=45

    …scroll down to the last post on Page 1 for a more detailed version of the allegations against the “owners” of RTS.

  4. Squish says:

    Thats really funny…because none of it is true. Ruletheseas.com is in no way under any investigation, and definitely has open and working paypal accounts. Morgan is a tool.

What are your thoughts? Leave a comment...

How do I change my avatar?
Go to gravatar.com and upload your preferred avatar