Beware: Dreamcast.com “Update” Actually a Scam

Posted by Chris on Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 at 6:50 am under Game Companies, Gamer Life, Sega

dreamcast.gifEditor’s Note: Our previous post reporting on the update to the Dreamcast site has been removed to prevent our readers from inadvertantly being victimized by this phishing scam.

I was very excited to hear that Dreamcast.com had been recently updated. I was disappointed that, by the time I visited the site, they weren’t accepting any further registrations due to such high demand. As it turns out, I lucked out – Japanese site Mainichi has confirmed that Sega no longer owns the Dreamcast.com domain, and the Dreamcast and Sega logos are being illegally used on the site.

The website, we thought, was offering a free Dreamcast.com email address as a way of thanking gamers for holding onto their beloved Sega consoles for so long. (The 10-year anniversary for the console’s launch is quickly approaching.) By providing your console’s serial number, an email address and password, you’d be able to get your free Dreamcast domain email (which is somehow tied to Gmail).

Joystiq tracked down the information and we want to relay it to you: do NOT submit any of your information to this website. We’ll have more on this story as it develops.

If you found this story interesting, why not subscribe to our RSS feed to get your daily fix of gaming news?


5 Responses to “Beware: Dreamcast.com “Update” Actually a Scam”

  • Matt says:

    thats just plain mean and wrong :twisted:

  • Sega hints at the Dreamcast 2!! - Tampa Forums says:

    [...] This just came up: Dreamcast.com "Update" Actually a Scam. [...]

  • Jose says:

    wow… that's f**ked up

    I wonder how many people got punked

  • Hahahahahahaha says:

    I hope they ruin some people's lives. I'm glad I didn't sign up even though I own two Dreamcasts.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA if you were dumb enough to get tricked :D:D:D:D

  • Gauldar says:

    You own 2 Dreamcasts… Why?

Leave a Reply